Hornaday Award

Conservation and the Boy Scouts have been partners for a long time.  Camping, hiking, and respect for the outdoors are a part of the Scouting heritage.

This awards program was created to recognize those that have made significant contribution s to conservation.  The Hornaday Awards are highly prized by those who have received them: approximately 1,100 medals have been awarded over the past 80 years.  These awards represent a substantial commitment of time and energy by individuals who have learned the meaning of conservation/environmental ethic.

Any Boy Scout, Varsity Scout, Venturer, or adult volunteer can qualify for one of the Hornaday Awards.

Application for the Hornaday Awards

Nominations for the Hornaday Award locally


Lifesaving/Heroism Meritorious Action Awards

The Boy Scouts of America teaches emergency preparedness and first aid to even the youngest of our members.  Statistics show that 1 out of every 100 Scouts will use the skills he learned in Scouting to save another person’s life.

There are several recognition levels to honor Scouts who knew what to do, how and when to do it, and applied their Scouting skills in an emergency situation.

Any Scout or adult volunteer can qualify the following awards.  Click here for the national website information on such awards.

Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award is the council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America.  Recipients of this award are registered adult leaders who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council.

Silver Beaver Award is given to Scouters who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self-sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service.

Applications are due annually on November 1stClick here for the application. FAQ on Silver Beaver process.




Translate »