Polaris District serves the area of Sunnyvale, Cupertino and Saratoga.

If you live in any of the areas mentioned in Polaris and you would like to get information on joining a Cub Scout Pack, Boy Scout Troop, or Venturing Crew please contact the District Director Jose Martinez at 408.638.8321 or Jose.Martinez@scouting.org



District Resources


Join us at our monthly roundtable meeting, where we cover a different training topic each month. Give us an hour and a half of your time, and we will save you so much more than that each month planning den meetings, pack meetings, and more!

Location – The Polaris Roundtable is held at Good Samaritan United Methodist Church, 19624 E. Homestead Rd, Cupertino, CA 95014, from 7:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., on the 2nd Wednesday of each month.

Roundtable Newsletter – Sign up for the Polaris Roundtable Newsletter to receive a reminder with the month’s training topic. E-mail SVMB-Polaris-RT-subscribe@yahoogroups.com and include your name, position, and unit number to sign up.


Polaris Star Newsletter

Check out the latest edition of the Polaris Star to stay updated on District and Council news and events.

District Committee

Time is precious, yet almost every adult citizen of the United States gives some time to volunteer service, as it is a sign of good citizenship.

The Polaris District Committee is a leadership group composed of passionate volunteers from different units in Polaris. This group is responsible for carrying out four standard functions: Membership, Finance, Program, and Unit Service.

Are you interested in sharing your talents with our committee and the scouters in your community? Please join one of our subcommittees, or take leadership and chair it. For more information please contact District Director Jose Martinez at Jose.Martinez@scouting.org.


Position Name  Volunteer Opportunities
District Chairman Dave Holt
District Director Jose Martinez
District Commissioner Robert Lupfer  Become a Unit Commissioner
District Vice Chairman Terry Bohlen
Finance Chair Brian McCrone
Program Chair Ken Bower
Activities Chair Laurie Hecker Join Our Subcommittee
Pinewood Derby Chair Daniel Lee Join Our Subcommittee
Scout-O-Rama Chair John Lin Join Our Subcommittee
Popcorn Kernel Linda Brooks Join Our Subcommittee
District Dinner Chair Stephanie Bownas & T407 Join Our Subcommittee
Scouting for Food Chair Alvin Chen
OA Chapter Advisor Dave Low
Camping Chair Kathleen Thurgate
Training Chair Shawming Ma Join Our Subcommittee
Cub Scout RT Commissioner Eric Hsu Join Our Subcommittee
Boy Scout RT Commissioner Mark Fisher Join Our Subcommittee
Membership Chair Vacant Join Our Subcommittee
We.S.T. Fair Chair Greg Spears Join Our Subcommittee
Friends of Scouting Leadership Chair Bob Wedig
Friends of Scouting Family Chair Richard Lahey Join Our Subcommittee
Friends of Scouting CASA Chair Yihong Wang Join Our Subcommittee
Friends of Scouting Community Chair Vacant Join Our Subcommittee
Advancement Chair Hersh Bhargava Join Our Subcommittee
Communications/Public Relations Chair Mark Ellson


Polaris District Events

Pinewood Derby

Pinewood Derby is one of the most popular and successful family activities in Cub Scouting. Pinewood derby cars are small wooden models that Cub Scouts make with help from their families. Then they race the cars in competition. The cars are powered by gravity and run down a track.

February 10, 2018. For more information contact Pinewood Derby Chair Daniel Lee.

Click HERE for more details.


We.S.T. Fair

We would like to give your family a first-hand look at what Boy Scouting is all about! The Webelos to Scout Transition Fair will give you a preview of different Troops in our community. This is a great way to visit with Scouts and parents from other troops. It is also a good way to find the best fit for you and your Webelos Scout.

October 6, 2018. For more information contact We.S.T. Fair Chair Greg Spears.

Click HERE for more details.



Join your fellow scouts from the Polaris District for a huge weekend of camping, exciting competitions, cooking, games, races, and campfires! All Boy Scouts are invited to participate in this fun-filled weekend, organized by the Order of the Arrow. Scouts setup their own camps, and compete against teams from other units in individual and patrol games of skill, knowledge, and strength.

April 6-8, 2018 at Cheesebrough Scout Reservation. For more information contact Camp-o-ree Chair Dave Low.

Click HERE for more details.


Cub Camp

Cub Camp is a five-day program for Cub Scouts. It is conducted under certified leadership at an approved site and during daylight hours, and does not include any overnight activities. Certification of the day camp director and program director is provided through the National Camping School.

Stevens Creek 1: July 9-13, 2018
Stevens Creek 2: July 23-27 2018

For more information contact Cub Camp Chair Michelle Ray.

Click HERE for more details.

District Dinner

Thank you to Stephanie Bownas and Troop 407 for being the hosts of the 2018 Polaris District Dinner (more information to be announced).

If you and your troop are interested in hosting the 2019 Polaris District Dinner, please contact District Director Jose Martinez.


Past Polaris District Award of Merit Recipients
2017  John Lin  Robert Lupfer Jr. William Wegner
2016 Terri Boyanich Mark Fisher Jo Young
2015 Terry Bohlen Jenny Chang Kathleen Thurgate
2014 Peter Chiu Sally Erickson David Overhauser
2013 Wayne Ho James Liu Nick Ward
2012 Robin Melnick Anthony Rodrigues Dennis Yau
2011 Mark Ellson Norm Proffit Debbie Ward
2010 Brian Davis Paul Jancis Jerry McMillan
2009 Wendy Glasser Kathi Lucas Don Pannell
2008 Rebecca Feng Debbie Jancis Michael Malone
2007 Tad Davis Yo-Wei Liu John Lucas Roy Tsai
2006 Suzette Pangrie Charlie Schrey Bobby Toda
2005 Pauli Hseuh Jill Lin Sarah Rouse
2004 Dave Low Bob Ulicki Chatman Wong
2003 Greg Buchanan Bob Wedig
2002 Ed Chang Lisa Corley Jim Long
2001 Jim Dreschler Frank Eng Michael Pike
2000 David Ashby Flora Tzeng Howard Trudeau
1999 Hoi Leung Charlie Schramm Jan Wedig
1998 Dan Bobier Daryl Milanowski
1997 Carol Brugge Mark Towar
1996 Dianne Depositar Les Screiber
1995 Jack Kusters Jim McAffee
1994 Richard Brenner Floyd Okada
1993 Ken Bower Dave Okamura Kathy Denise Dennis Swanson Arthur Wong
1992 Jim Hall Mark Vogt
1991 George Denise
1989 Larry Grace
Translate »